Alpha Phi Omega National Service Fraternity
Zeta Phi Chapter


About the Chapter

The 165th chapter of Alpha Phi Omega National Service Fraternity, and the second to be chartered at a Historically Black College or University (HBCU), was the Zeta Phi Chapter at Howard University - thus giving it the distinction of being the "Black Beta" Chapter. The charter was received on May 29, 1948 with Founder Dr. Ray O. Wyland officiating on behalf of the National Executive Board. The ritual was conducted by the Epsilon Mu Chapter at the University of Maryland at College Park. The only other chapter in the area at the time was Zeta Mu Chapter at Catholic University, chartered just days before on May 22, 1948.

Lucius E. Young*
Armour Jenning Blackburn*
Lewis King Downing*
Herman R. Brandon* 
Russell A. Dixion*
James Brown Drew*
Halson V. Eagleson*
William N. McIntosh*
George W. Sherard*
Richard N. Dixon, Sr.*
Taylor M. Willliams*
Alfred Robert Brown
Ferdinand Joseph Butler
Clinton C. Crocker
William C. Flecther
Lonnie C. Geter
Johnathan Clarkson Gibbs
Frederick B. Greene
David McKenzie Hall
Christopher P. Harewood, III
Junius Albert Johnson
Donald A. Kiah
Raymond League, Jr.
Lawrence J. Lee
W. J. Lyons
Melvin Moore, Jr.
Robert William Morton
Jeanus Burrell Parks, Jr.
Henry Paul 
Hilliard Alfred Reed, Jr.
Elliot Alexandre Robertson
Ricardo Joseph Shamwell
Alfred M. Sharpe
Lawrence S. Stephens, Jr.
Charles E. Stewert
Lee Edward Thomas 
Louis Robert Vaughn
Edmere Gray Winfield
David C. Winston