Alpha Phi Omega National Service Fraternity
Zeta Phi Chapter


About the Fraternity

"The purpose of this Fraternity shall be to assemble college students in a National Service Fraternity in the fellowship of the principles derived from the Scout Oath and Law of the Boy Scouts of America. To develop Leadership, promote Friendship and provide Service to humanity and further the freedom that is our national, educational and intellectual heritage." 

Alpha Phi Omega National Service Fraternity, was founded on December 16, 1925 on the campus of Lafayette College in Easton, Pennsylvania by twenty strong morale men. Based on his experiences in World War I, Frank Reed Horton resolved to do his best to, "help young people get the right start in life, by holding up before them a 'standard of manhood' that would withstand the test of time!" He was inspired by Herbert G. Horton, a Boy Scout Executive, to begin a college organization that continued the ideals instilled in young people by the Scout Oath and Law. With the Cardinal Principles of Leadership, Friendship, and Service as a guide, Alpha Phi Omega National Service Fraternity was initially considered to be a collegiate fraternity exclusively for former members of the Boy Scouts of America. Chapters of the Fraternity were chartered on the East Coast, South, Mid-West, and West Coast by 1928, with membership growing exponentially since then. Alpha Phi Omega, National Service Fraternity went truly international when the first chapters were established in the Philippines in 1950. Women were officially admitted into the Fraternity by the National Convention of 1976. To preserve the integrity of the Fraternity's history and traditions, all members are referred to as "Brothers." Alpha Phi Omega National Service Fraternity is now considered the largest fraternity, with over 500,000 members performing service worldwide. The Fraternity has made a positive difference in the lives of college men and women and has helped to improve the quality of life for individuals in need. Over 500,000 students have been initiated into Alpha Phi Omega National Service Fraternity since our founding in 1925.

Frank Reed Horton
Everett W. Probst
Thane S. Cooley
William T. Wood
Gordon M. Looney
Ephraim M. Detwiler, Jr. 
Lewis B. Blair 
Donald L. Terwilliger
William W. Highberger 
Donald H. Fritts 
George A. Olsen
Robert J. Green
Ellsworth S. Dobson 
Herbert Heinrich
John McKracken*
Ray O. Wyland*
Herbert G. Horton*
Donald B. Prentice*
D. Arthur Hatch* 
Harry T. Spengler*