Alpha Phi Omega National Service Fraternity, Zeta Phi Chapter

Founded In Service, Distinguished by Integrity, Bound by Brotherhood

               On Howard's Campus Since 1948...

The 165th chapter of Alpha Phi Omega and the second to be chartered at a Historically Black College or University {HBCU}, was Zeta Phi at Howard University, giving it the nickname and distinction of being the "Black Beta" chapter.

The charter was received on May 29, 1948, with Dr. Ray O. Wyland (one of the founding brothers) officiating on behalf of the national executive board. The ritual was conducted by the Epsilon Mu chapter at the University of Maryland at College Park. The only other chapter in the area at the time was Zeta Mu at Catholic University, chartered just days before on May 22, 1948.
Alfred Robert Brown
Ferdinand Joseph Butler
Clinton C. Crocker
William C. Flecther
Lonnie C. Geter
Johnathan Clarkson Gibbs
Frederick B. Greene
David McKenzie Hall
Christopher P. Harewood, III
Junius Albert Johnson
Donald A. Kiah
Raymond League, Jr.
Lawrence J. Lee
W. J. Lyons
Melvin Moore, Jr.
Robert William Morton
Jeanus Burrell Parks, Jr
Henry Paul
Hlliard Alfred Reed, Jr
Elliot Alexandre Robertson
Ricardo Joseph Shamwell
Alfred M. Sharpe
Lawrence S. Stephens, Jr
Charles E. Stewert
Lee Edward Thomas
Louis Robert Vaughn
Edmere Gray Winfield
David C. Winston

Lucius E. Young 
Armour Jenning Blackburn
Lewis King Downing
Herman R. Brandon
Russell A. Dixion 
James Brown Drew
Halson V. Eagleson
William N. McIntosh
George W. Sherard
Richard N. Dixon, Sr
Taylor M. Willliams